MSCEO.NET (beta)

Andreia Longshore | Brazilian Waxing by Andreia

Posted in INSPIRATION by msceonet on February 4, 2010

Andreia Longshore is founder and CEO of Brazilian Waxing by Andreia in Atlanta, Georgia, USA (click photo for larger view).

 

Brazilian-born entrepreneur makes her American dream come true

Authenticity and family roots are keys to her success

By Felicia Joy
Senior Correspondent 

Meticulous grooming and rigorous beauty regiments are part of the Brazilian culture.  Taking an active role in caring for family is too.  This combination—image, strong family ties and hard work—gave Andreia Longshore the experiences, from yay high, that are now the makings of her tremendous success.  Owner of “Brazilian Waxing by Andreia,” a chain of full-service waxing boutiques in Atlanta, she has grown her business from a one-woman mobile operation to five booming storefront locations with full staffs. 

“Growing up in Brazil, the kind of work I do was very common.  I helped support my family by waxing from the age of 16,” Andreia said.  When I moved to the United States I learned that very few people had been exposed to ‘real’ waxing. Before moving to the U.S. I had never heard of waxing referred to as specifically ‘brazilian.’ I strongly believed an authentic experience was an untapped niche in the Atlanta area,” she said. 

Andreia came to the United States in 1999 and launched her business in 2006 using her own funds.  “I had saved some money back home in Brazil.  When I moved to the United States, I provided service within the Brazilian community; during that time I would go to the customer.  I developed a steady clientele and quickly realized that it would be much more beneficial to have them come to me.  With that I set up my first waxing salon,” Andreia said. 

Andreia Longshore, February 2010 Ms. CEO of the Month, shows off her business savvy and style in a classic Ms. CEO tee.

Not allowing anything to hold her back—including a language barrier—Andreia discovered the American Dream and turned one location into two within 18 months.  “Even though I am fluent in English, America is such a melting pot of people, sometimes I find the language challenging because of all the various dialects and accents used.  I am multi-lingual but I did not experience such variations in dialect or accents in Brazil or speaking Portuguese.” 

(Check out fun facts about Andreia Longshore.) 

With a constant flow of customers, Andreia set her sights on expansion by focusing on her marketing strategy, which included an unexpected twist that, for her, was the obvious; and it paid off. “Waxing for men was a no brainer.  A few years ago, most salons did not offer any waxing services to men for their backs, arms, legs, or a men’s brazilian.  So, I decided to offer them the same services I offer women.  When I started marketing for it I placed an ad in a local paper that simply stated ‘Waxing available for men.’   The response was unbelievable and I have developed a very strong male client base, and it continues to grow ever since,” Andreia said. 

Perfect pricing has been a pot of gold for Andreia as well.  “The $35 price for a ladies brazilian is very inexpensive and affordable.  When I learned how much other salons were charging, I knew I could offer Atlanta’s first authentic brazilian waxing experience for about half the price other salons were charging,” Andreia said. 

“I also knew I had to catch every lady’s eye to stand out against the competition so I got a pink branded Volkswagen Beetle.  I believe it is a very feminine car and the pink makes it look like a cute little toy.  I couldn’t think of a better vehicle to market my business,” she said. 

Marketing savvy is a definite part of Andreia’s success but ultimately she attributes her fortune to good old fashioned values and faith.   

“There is no secret.  It is a combination of hard work and determination, in addition to being driven and self-motivated.  Also, growing up in Brazil instilled very strong family values in my life.  Plus, I believe in leading a healthy lifestyle and staying active; that is essential to maintaining beauty and staying in shape,” Andreia said.  “Being passionate about my business keeps me energized.  My faith in God has given me strength when I needed it the most and has taught me that there is no mountain too big to climb.” 

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] leave a comment « Andreia Longshore | Brazilian Waxing by Andreia [...]

  2. Laura Lever said, on February 5, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    Great story on a beautiful young lady who really shows that we each can make our dreams come true through hard work and dedication. Congrats!

  3. Leslie P said, on February 6, 2010 at 3:36 am

    Wow! What an incredible story and inspiration to ALL women. It is difficult to believe someone can still be so passionate and energetic about something they started at such a young age. And a “thank you” to Ms. Felica Joy, who did a wonderful write up on such a beautiful and inspirational individual.

  4. rebeca said, on February 7, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    I’ve been a customer of Andreia for 8 years. I’m very happy to see her accomplish all of her goals. She is a amazing and inspirational women for all of us. I’m very happy that MS CEO recognizes all of the beautiful and hard working entrepreneurs we have here in Atlanta. Congratulations, for both MS CEO and Andreia Longshore.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

