MSCEO.NET (beta)

July Ms. CEO of the Month: Marshawn Evans

Posted in INSPIRATION by msceonet on July 8, 2010

Atlanta entrepreneur uses her unique appeal to help her clients stand out from the crowd

Marshawn Evans indulges in spa therapy to stay grounded, so she can take the careers of others to new heights

By Nadiyah M. Jett
Ms. CEO Correspondent

As we reflect on this month’s theme of “Leadership and Negotiation,” one of the best in the business of branding and innovation is giving us a sneak peek into her busy world at ME Unlimited in

Marshawn Evans, an entrepreneur in Atlanta, is July 2010 Ms. CEO of the Month, representing the theme, "Leadership & Negotiation". She's an attorney and founder of ME Unlimited. (Click image for larger view.)

The  Atlanta. Each day, Marshawn Evans makes and closes deals that ultimately bring her clients, from athletes to business notables, more recognition within their industry. Now, she’s slowing down a bit, so we can catch a glimpse of her world outside of the office.

What would you tell or ask Michelle Obama if you met her tomorrow? First, I would express my appreciation for the amazing example she sets for women. To combine style and substance as a mother, wife and an absolutely brilliant career professional is exactly what women and young girls need to see.  She is so much more than a fashion icon. What’s really iconic about her is her authenticity. She is true to herself, her purpose, and her family. That’s real success. I would want her to know how important she is for women at this time in history. If I could ask her anything, I’d like to borrow her make-up artist and hair stylist for a day, or two!

What stores are a must when you get time for retail therapy? I prefer saving my dollars, but when I do shop, I like boutiques. My favorite thing to do when I’m home, however, is to go to the spa. I make it a point to get regular massages. It’s relaxing but it is also an important part of a wellness plan.

Marshawn Evans, the perfect picture of grace and leadership, is July 2010 Ms. CEO of the Month. She has shown her brilliant negotiating skills in business and on Donald Trump's "The Apprentice." (Click image for larger view.)

What designer makes the best business suits? I love Michael Kors! I first met him in person when my team won a task on The Apprentice. Our reward was a shopping spree at his New York showroom. Thankfully, the men on my team were like fish out of water and had funds to spare from their allowance. I “kindly” offered to use their leftovers toward my purchases. And, I have an original purse designed and signed by him.

Of all of the national television programs and magazines that have featured you, what was your most amusing behind-the-scenes experience? I recently did a live interview in-studio and right before I went on-air, I accidentally “nicked” my false eyelashes, which I love wearing, by the way! The entire time I was trying to focus on the questions, but all I could think about was ending up on a horrible viral video, if my lash fell off on live television!

What are you like in work mode? I am a total CEO. I have a very clear vision of what I like and what pieces I need to connect the dots for my projects and clients. I love branding, preparing campaigns, proposals and speaking around the globe. I am definitely intense! But, I’m also extremely loyal. I have an excellent team and inner circle. They know that I trust them and that the reason I push is because I want to the pull out the very best.

What is your most exciting professional endeavor? I still pinch myself when I walk into a major bookstore and see my book, SKIRTS in the Boardroom: A Woman’s Survival Guide to Success in Business & Life, on the shelf in the business section. There are very few women of color in the business genre of books.

Leave a Reply

